Navarasa - Nine Emotions

Yorkston: Thorne: Khan

CD  |  Alternative  |  24 Jan 2020

  • Description
  • Details

Navarasa - Nine Emotions | CD

Currently out of stock - Ships within 5-7 business days

Finance available

  • afterpay
  • zip
  • humm
  • klarna

This product is a member of the following groups/offers:





Yorkston/Thorne/Khan Navarasa - Nine Emotions CD




Yorkston/Thorne/Khan - James Yorkston (guitar/nyckelharpa/vocals), Jon Thorne (double-bass/vocals) and Suhail Yusuf Khan (sarangi/vocals) - are pleased to announce their new album Navarasa : Nine Emotions.

This bricolage of diverse cross-cultural elements is apparent across Navarasa : Nine Emotions and all of what YTK create. James Yorkston weaves in Scottish folk, sangster and literary strands. Jon Thorne is grounded in jazz and groove.

What the New Delhi-based, eighth-generation hereditary musician Suhail Yusuf Khan brings to this feast of pulses and cycles is northern Indian classical, light classical (thumri, for example) and Sufi devotional musical and literary forms. What binds these diverse musical strands together is, in James’ phrase, “a dark happiness”.


Title: Navarasa - Nine Emotions

Format: CD

Release Date: 24 Jan 2020

Artist: Yorkston: Thorne: Khan

Sku: 2442619

Catalogue No: WIGCD439

Category: Alternative



1. Sukhe Phool

2. The Shearing’s Not For You

3. Thumri Bhairavi

4. Westlin’ Winds

5. Song for Oddur

6. The North Carr

7. Twa Brothers

8. Waliyan Da Raja

9. Darbari