Total: $0.00

Greatest Hits - Mr Soul Of Jamaica

Alton Ellis

CD  |  Reggae  |  11 Oct 2019

Greatest Hits - Mr Soul Of Jamaica | CD


Currently out of stock - Ships within 10-20 business days




Alton Ellis Greatest Hits - Mr Soul Of Jamaica CD




During a recording career that spanned some five decades, Alton Nehemiah Ellis wrote and recorded some of the most popular and influential ska, rock steady and reggae recordings of all-time.


After making his debut in 1960, the immensely talented performer swiftly established a reputation as one of Jamaica’s most popular and revered artistes, recording a catalogue of hit singles, most notably for Duke Reid’s famed Treasure Isle Records


In 1973, a dozen of the singer-songwriter’s Treasure Isle tracks were gathered on “Mr Soul Of Jamaica” – a best-selling LP, which concurrently saw issue in the UK as ‘Greatest Hits’.


This seminal album forms the basis of this indispensable 2CD set, which also contains the remainder of Ellis’s Duke Reid-produced output from the mid-Sixties onwards, with the bonus material including a host of long-lost rarities and previously unissued alternate takes!


Title: Greatest Hits - Mr Soul Of Jamaica

Format: CD

Release Date: 11 Oct 2019

Artist: Alton Ellis

Sku: 2437212

Catalogue No: DBCDD045

Category: Reggae



1. Breaking Up

2. Why Birds Follow Spring

3. I Can't Stop Now

4. Ain't That Loving You

5. You Made Me So Very Happy

6. Remember That Sunday

7. All My Tears

8. Baby I Love You

9. Chatty Chatty People

10. My Willow Tree

11. If I Could Rule This World

12. What Does It Take

13. Girl I've Got A Date (1966 Version)

14. Rock Steady

15. I Can't Stand It

16. Cry Tough (Take 6)

17. La La Means I Love You

18. Don't Trouble People

19. Diana

20. Love Letters

21. Shake It

22. Black Man's Word

23. Give Me Your Love

24. I Love You

25. Girl I've Got A Date (1967 Version)

26. Why Did You Leave Me

27. How Can I

28. Dance Crasher

29. Duke Of Earl

30. Blessings Of Love

31. Oh, What A Smile Can Do

32. Personality

33. The Preacher

34. Pumping In

35. Nothing Sweeter

36. Breaking Up (Alternate Take)

37. Something You Got

38. The Same Song

39. Dont Trouble People (Alternate Take)

40. Honey I Love

41. Don't Gamble With Love

42. Remember That Sunday (Alternate Take)

43. Trying To Reach My Goal

44. A Youre Adorable

45. Im Just A Guy

46. Cry Tough (Take 5)

47. You Made Me So Very Happy (Alternate Take)

48. Party Time

49. Girl Ive Got A Date (Soul Version)