My Own Pool Of Light (SIGNED COPY)

Holy Holy

CD  |  Alternative  |  02 Aug 2019

  • Description
  • Details

My Own Pool Of Light  (SIGNED COPY) | CD

In Stock - Online


Finance available

  • afterpay
  • zip
  • humm
  • klarna

This product is a member of the following groups/offers:

Signed/Bonus Offers

2 For $25 Music

Holy Holy




Holy Holy My Own Pool Of Light CD




Holy Holy’s third album, My Own Pool Of Light, is the work of a duo emboldened by complete creative freedom, from the songwriting to the recording process and, ultimately, their decision to self-produce.


It’s an album that finds guitarist Oscar Dawson and vocalist Timothy Carroll incorporating new sounds and fresh ideas, in the process redefining exactly what kind of band they are without sacrificing the key elements – soaring melodies, lush instrumental textures, the beguiling mix of jubilance and melancholy, Carroll’s affecting lyrics – that have made them one of Australia’s most popular acts.


Holy Holy continues to commandeer new sonic territory as seen throughout the journey from their first ep, to the acclaimed Where The Storms Will Come to their most recent album Paint.  The album debuted at #7 on the aria album chart in February 2017 and spurred the #1 most played track at triple j and international songwriting competition finalist, Darwinism. Fourth single True Lovers landed at #40 in the triple j hottest 100 and is certified gold. Following the release, Holy Holy performed two national headline tours and sets at Bluesfest, Yours And Owls, Festival Of The Sun, Woodford Folk Festival, Secret Garden, The Drop and Party In The Paddock. They have also captured the attention of global tastemakers with sold out shows in London and performances at Primavera, The Great Escape, Reeperbahn, Dot To Dot, Liverpool Music Week and London Calling.


Review of Holy Holy - My Own Pool Of Light by Thomas Bleach

Highlighting a strong contrast of high emotions and pulsating energy, Holy Holy have delivered a captivating collection of tracks for their third studio album that shows maturity and growth. ‘My Own Pool Of Light’ is an engaging listen from start to finish that really captures the essence of this dynamic duo. With the anthemic hooks of ‘Faces’ and ‘Teach Me About Dying’ offering big singalong moments along with an euphoric attitude that drives their live show, you aren't left disappointed with other similar moments. ‘Sandra’, ‘People’ and ’Paces#1’ lead the pack whilst ‘Flight’ and ‘Starting Line’ get a little more experimental within their roots and offer a different production style. But where this album really impresses is in it’s more vulnerable moments. Showing an emotional and reflective side to their artistry on ‘Maybe You Know’, ‘Frida’ and ‘St Petersburg’, they create these very cinematic tinged tracks that paint a distinct visual in your mind. ‘Frida’ hears them questioning why we install all these gender stereotypes into children from a young age through literature. It’s the line “Don’t you know that the world was not made for the girls but for the boys and I know its wrong, I know it’s not right” that will immediately haunts the listener because it’s the common consensus in society which is for some reason still not changing. There are actions being made but they are still not big enough to create the impact needed, and this song highlights that in a very beautiful and honest way. As an entirety, ‘My Own Pool Of Light’ is a strong continuation and growth in Holy Holy’s artistic journey. There are not only energetic anthems that will excel in their live show but there are also thought evoking moments that cite a deeper acknowledgement.
See more from Thomas on his website


Title: My Own Pool Of Light (SIGNED COPY)

Format: CD

Release Date: 02 Aug 2019

Artist: Holy Holy

Sku: 2425133

Catalogue No: LICK029

Category: Alternative



1. Maybe You Know

2. Faces

3. Flight

4. Sandra

5. Starting Line

6. Paces#1

7. People

8. Teach Me About Dying

9. Hatswing

10. (10)

11. Frida

12. St Petersburg