Brighde Chaimbeul

CD  |  Folk  |  01 Mar 2019

  • Description
  • Details

Reeling | CD

Currently out of stock - Ships within 10-20 business days

Finance available

  • afterpay
  • zip
  • humm
  • klarna



Brighde Chaimbeul Reeling CD




Following the tremendous success of Lisa O'Neill's 'Heard A Long Gone Song' LP, River Lea is excited to be releasing the debut album by exceptional Skye musician Brìghde Chaimbeul.

The Reeling was recorded live without overdubs in the historic East Church in Cromarty, on the Black Isle. These largely traditional Scottish and Bulgarian tunes were performed by Brìghde on the Scottish smallpipes (with the addition of an ancient harmonium found in the church.) She was joined on the recording by violinist Aidan O'Rourke from experimental folk trio Lau, who also produced the album, Radie Peat from the Dublin band Lankum on concertina, and the pioneering 82-year-old singer and piper Rona Lightfoot contributing canntaireachd (a phonetic singing tradition used to teach pipe tunes ? the word means "chanting" in Gaelic.) Hearing Rona play gave Brìghde her initial inspiration to take up piping when she was just four years old (she began studying the instrument three years later).


Title: Reeling

Format: CD

Release Date: 01 Mar 2019

Artist: Brighde Chaimbeul

Sku: 2414323

Catalogue No: RLR003CD

Category: Folk



1. O Chiadain An Lo

2. A Bhriogais Uallach / Nighean Donn Nan Gobhar

3. Moma E Moma Rodila

4. An Léimras / Harris Dance

5. Tàladh Nan Cearc

6. The Old Woman's Dance / The Skylark's Ascension

7. Gur Bòidheach Nighean Donn Mo Chridhe

8. Tornala Maika

9. Tha 'n Oidhch' Ann 's An Dorch' Ann

10. Mary Brennan's / The Reeling, The Reeling

11. Ruidhle Mo Nighean Donn