Songs From The Village

Jess And Matt

CD  |  Rock/Pop  |  15 Jun 2018

  • Description
  • Details

Songs From The Village | CD

In Stock - Online

This product is a member of the following groups/offers:

2 For $25 Music

Jess And Matt




Jess And Matt Songs From The Village CD




Multi-instrumentalists & singer-songwriter duo Jess & Matt’s forthcoming album “Songs From The Village” features 12 classic songs that defined a generation in the 1960’s in Greenwich Village, New York. This era was the birth of the singer-songwriter. The album features duets from Chris Isaak and Rick Price.



Review of Jess and Matt - Songs From The Village by Thomas Bleach

  Australia’s favourite wholesome-pop duo are back with a new record that hears them rediscovering their roots. Stripping it completely back ‘Songs From The Village’ sees Jess & Matt reimagining twelve classic folk tracks that defined a generation in the 1960’s. This duo are both very talented singer-songwriters and could have easily released an album full of original tracks that they’ve been working on in Nashville but this album kind of perfectly re-introduces this sound to listeners. It also sets them up for future releases as their previous releases were very pop and electronic focused and shifts them away from that commercial sound. They have chosen some very iconic and hard songs to include on this record so it’s actually a testament to their raw talent that they have been able to pull this off so beautifully. ‘The Times they Are A-Changin’, ‘The Boxer’ and ‘Scarborough Fair’ are some of the instant favourites on this collection as well as their impressive duet of ‘The Sound Of Silence’ with Chris Issak. But their vocal harmonies are the true highlight as they bring a different layering and shading to the originals because none of these tracks were written to be duets so they’ve had to adjust the harmonies and structures to make it work. So while it is technically a covers album they have also very much made it their own. Their vocal harmonies are impressive, their song structures are simple and beautiful and they will have you falling in love with folk music all over again. 
See more from Thomas on his website


Title: Songs From The Village

Format: CD

Release Date: 15 Jun 2018

Artist: Jess And Matt

Sku: 2356238

Catalogue No: 88985463282

Category: Rock/Pop



1) The Times They Are A-Changin'

2) The Boxer

3) Blowin’ in the Wind

4) Mrs. Robinson

5) The Sound of Silence (feat. Chris Isaak)

6) Don't Think Twice, It's All Right

7) Scarborough Fair

9) Leaving on a Jet Plane

8) House Of The Rising Sun (Feat. Rick Price)

10) Like a Rolling Stone

11) Both Sides Now

12) If I Had a Hammer

13) The Times They Are A-Changin' Reprise