Existing Members

Email *
Password *

New to Sanity?


Before The Coronation: Her Earliest Recordings

Aretha Franklin
CD  |  Soul  |  26 Mar 2013
No reviews yet Write A Review
Tracks Description Details
Before The Coronation: Her Earliest Recordings | CD

Currently out of stock - Ships within 10-20 business days

Buy Now & Pay Later With

PayPal Afterpay Zip Humm Klarna Laybuy Openpay

Shipping - See delivery options.
EU-only two CD set. Aretha Franklin is one of the giants of Soul and American Pop music: her success was so great she eventually went on to be named, "Lady Soul". On this magnificent set, we look at her early pre-Atlantic recordings. For the first time ever, her 1956 debut Gospel album is compiled alongside her first three R&B/Pop albums. Just one listen to the material on offer here and it is clear that she was well on her way to being the R&B star that we know her as today. Initial hits such as: "Today I Sing the Blues", "Operation Heartbreak" and her version of "Rock-A-Bye Your Baby with a Dixie Melody" are proof if proof be needed. This is the only collection of Aretha's early material that anyone would need. So here it is; we present to you the Queen in waiting or how we have dubbed her for these recordings, "The Princess of Soul" - Still waiting for her coronation. Jasmine.

Title: Before The Coronation: Her Earliest Recordings

Format: CD

Release Date: 26 Mar 2013

Artist: Aretha Franklin

Sku: 2237351

Catalogue No: JSM8802612.2

Category: Soul


1 There Is a Fountain Filled with Blood

2 Precious Lord Pt 1

3 Precious Lord Pt 2

4 You Grow Closer

5 Never Grow Old

6 The Day Is Past and Gone

7 He Will Wash You White as Snow

8 While the Blood Runs Warm

9 Yield Not to Temptation

10 Right Now

11 Today I Sing the Blues

12 Love Is the Only Thing

13 Over the Rainbow

14 (Blue) by Myself

15 Won't Be Long

16 All Night Long

17 It Ain't Necessarily So

18 Sweet Lover

19 Who Needs You?

20 Are You Sure?

21 Maybe I'M a Fool

22 I Surrender, Dear

23 Rock-a-Bye Your Baby with a Dixie Melody

24 Operation Heartbreak

25 I Told You So

26 Rough Lover

27 It's So Heartbreakin'

28 You Made Me Love You

29 Just for You

30 Blue Holiday

31 That Lucky Old Sun

32 Ac -Cent -Tchu-Ate the Positive

33 Exactly Like You

34 Nobody Like You

35 Don't Cry, Baby

36 Try a Little Tenderness

37 I Apologise

38 Without the One You Love

39 Look for the Silver Lining

40 I'M Sitting on Top of the World

41 Just for a Thrill

42 God Bless the Child

43 I'M Wandering

44 How Deep Is the Ocean

45 I Don't Know You Anymore

46 Lover Come Back to Me

47 Trouble in Mind

customer promise
sanity icon Help you find exactly what you are looking for, even if you aren't sure yourself!
sanity icon Track down the hard to find as quickly as possible - if it's available, we will get it!
sanity icon Deliver fast and friendly service to every customer.
sanity icon Provide you with the hottest, the latest and a great range.
sanity icon And if you're not satisified, you can exchange or with a receipt, get your money back - no questions asked!