Total: $0.00



CD  |  Music  |  18 Sep 2004

Wheels | CD


Currently out of stock - Ships within 10-20 business days


A packed to the brim 28 track collection of this Norman Petty instrumental group's best, all released between 1960 and 1964, prime years for the band. The String-A-Longs were a kinder, gentler version of the Fireballs, sporting an almost organ sounding lead guitar sound through their Magnatone amps, the drummer playing wire brushes on a cradboard box and nowhere near the amount of twang and sass that the Fireballs exhibited. They also didn't sing very much, limiting themselves to instrumental versions of mildly rocked up standards like "Should I," "My Blue Heaven," "Perifidia," with occassional trips into Fireball territory with their own twists on "Bulldog" and "Torquay." If you're looking for vintage rock'n'roll that has anice, laid back vibe to it, look no further; this one's perfect.


Title: Wheels

Format: CD

Release Date: 18 Sep 2004

Artist: String-A-Longs

Sku: 193436

Catalogue No: ACI390.2

Category: Music



1. Wheels

2. Brass Buttons

3. Should I?

4. Scottie

5. Nearly Sunrise

6. Sunday (Savely Regina)

7. My Blue Heaven

8. Mathilda

9. Skippin'

10. Mina Bird

11. Happy Melody

12. Panic Button

13. Walk, Don't Run

14. Summertime

15. Perfidia

16. Bulldog

17. Spinnin' My Wheels

18. Red River Twist

19. Take a Minute

20. You Don't Have to Go

21. Torquay

22. Twists Watch

23. Harbor Lights

24. Tell the World

25. Are You Lonesome Tonight?

26. My Babe

27. Heartaches

28. Replica