Existing Members

Email *
Password *

New to Sanity?


Combat Rock/The People’s Hall

The Clash
CD  |  Rock  |  20 May 2022
No reviews yet Write A Review
Tracks Description Details
Combat Rock/The People’s Hall | CD

Currently out of stock - Ships within 5-7 business days

Buy Now & Pay Later With

PayPal Afterpay Zip Humm Klarna Laybuy Openpay

Shipping - See delivery options.



The Clash Combat Rock/The People’s Hall CD




Originally released in May 1982, ‘Combat Rock’ is the final album from The Clash of Joe Strummer, Mick Jones, Paul Simonon and Topper Headon. Featuring two of the band’s most well-known songs, ‘Should I Stay Or Should I Go’ and ‘Rock The Casbah’, plus favourites ‘Straight To Hell’ and ‘Know Your Rights’, it is both their biggest selling album and highest charting set in both the UK and US.  


Now comes a special edition of the album, titled ‘Combat Rock/The People’s Hall’, which will be released on May 20th.  It couples the album with an additional 12-tracks compiled by The Clash.  


Having returned to London following their pivotal 17-show residency at New York’s Bond’s Casino in 1981, the band rehearsed and recorded at The People’s Hall in the squatted Republic of Frestonia near Latimer Road in London and from there they embarked on a tour of the East and South East Asia, during which the album sleeve image was captured by Pennie Smith in Thailand.  


The tracks on ‘The People’s Hall’ chart the period from what was their last single Radio Clash right up to the release of Combat Rock, including unheard, rare and early versions of tracks. 


The disc highlights a new version of ‘Know Your Rights’ which was recorded at The People’s Hall on the Rolling Stones Mobile Studio, and the previously unreleased instrumental ‘He Who Dares Or Is Tired’. Other notable tracks include ‘Futura 2000’, an unreleased original mix of ‘The Escapades of Futura 2000’, Mikey Dread’s ‘Radio One’, and the outtakes ‘The Fulham Connection’, previously known as ‘The Beautiful People Are Ugly Too’ as well as ‘Idle in Kangaroo Court’.  


‘Combat Rock’ is indicative of The Clash’s constant evolution and was influenced in part by the relatively recent end of the Vietnam War, particularly on ‘Sean Flynn’, inspired by the disappearance of the photojournalist and film star’s son. The band’s curiosity and range is illustrated by the many styles and voices here, notably poet Allen Ginsberg’s apocalyptic spoken word on ‘Ghetto Defendant’ and graffiti artist Futura’s rap on ‘Overpowered By Funk’.  


The Clash’s influence on punk, post-punk and indie rock is well documented and ‘Combat Rock’ specifically continues to inspire waves of rediscovery from new audiences, most notably with the use of ‘Should I Stay Or Should I Go’ as a prominent plot device in the first season of the Netflix smash ‘Stranger Things’. Meanwhile, ‘Straight To Hell’ remains instantly recognizable having been used in ‘Paper Planes’ by M.I.A.  

Title: Combat Rock/The People’s Hall

Format: CD

Release Date: 20 May 2022

Artist: The Clash

Sku: 2673942

Catalogue No: 19439968552

Category: Rock


1. Know Your Rights

2. Car Jamming

3. Should I Stay Or Should I Go

4. Rock The Casbah

5. Red Angel Dragnet

6. Straight To Hell

7. Overpowered By Funk

8. Atom Tan

9. Sean Flynn

10. Ghetto Defendant

11. Inoculated City

12. Death Is A Star


1. Outside Bonds

2. Radio Clash

3. Futura 2000

4. First Night Back In London

5. Radio One - Mikey Dread

6. He Who Dares Or Is Tired*

7. Long Time Jerk

8. The Fulham Connection [aka The Beautiful People Are Ugly Too]

9. Midnight To Stevens

10. Sean Flynn

11. Idle In Kangaroo Court

12. Know Your Rights*

customer promise
sanity icon Help you find exactly what you are looking for, even if you aren't sure yourself!
sanity icon Track down the hard to find as quickly as possible - if it's available, we will get it!
sanity icon Deliver fast and friendly service to every customer.
sanity icon Provide you with the hottest, the latest and a great range.
sanity icon And if you're not satisified, you can exchange or with a receipt, get your money back - no questions asked!