Die Schone Mullerin

David: Greco Erin Helyard

CD  |  Classical  |  31 Jul 2020

No reviews yet
Write A Review
  • Description
  • Details

Die Schone Mullerin | CD

In Stock - Online

Buy Now & Pay Later With

  • afterpay
  • zip
  • humm
  • klarna

This product is a member of the following groups/offers:

2 For $40 Music

All 2 For $40




David Greco, Erin Helyard Die Schone Mullerin CD




Following their 2018 recording of the great song cycle Winterreise, David Greco and Erin Helyard continue their exploration of Schubert's songs with their new recording of Die schöne Müllerin. Composed in 1823, it is one of the earliest extended song cycles, and one of Schubert's most important works.

This iconic work follows a young miller, his unrequited love for the miller's beautiful daughter, and the brook that seems to speak to him and reflect his growing sadness back at him. At turns joyful and spring-like, at others somber and morose, it is a complex and beautiful set of songs that has been recorded countless times by many of the greatest performers of the twentieth century.
But by using a piano from Schubert's era, and studying singers and pianists of the past, Greco and Helyard present a very different Müllerin; an interpretation that retains all the beauty of the work we know and love, but also reveals new colour, expression and personality as Schubert might have intended it.
This is a superb recording by two of Australia's finest artists, a thrilling and captivating rendition of a great work that reveals new beauty around each bend of the river…


Title: Die Schone Mullerin

Format: CD

Release Date: 31 Jul 2020

Artist: David: Greco Erin Helyard

Sku: 2553707

Catalogue No: 4818741

Category: Classical



1. Das Wandern (Wandering)

2. Wohin? (Where To?)

3. Halt! (Stop!)

4. Danksagung an den Bach (Thanksgiving to the Brook)

5. Am Feierabend (After Work)

6. Der Neugierige (The Inquisitive One)

7. Ungeduld (Impatience)

8. Morgengruss (Morning Greeting)

9. Des Müllers Blumen (The Miller's Flowers)

10. Tränenregen (Shower of Tears)

11. Mein! (Mine!)

12. Pause (Pause)

13. Impromptu in G-flat major, D899 No. 3

14. Mit dem grünen Lautenbande (With the Lute's Green Ribbon)

15. Der Jäger (The Hunter)

16. Eifersucht und Stolz (Jealousy and Pride)

17. Die liebe Farbe (The Beloved Colour)

18. Die böse Farbe (The Hateful Colour)

19. Trockne Blumen (Withered Flowers)

20. Der Müller und der Bach (The Miller and the Brook)

21. Des Baches Wiegenlied (The Brook's Lullaby)