Email *
Password *

Down In The Weed Where The World Once Was

Bright Eyes

CD  |  Rock  |  21 Aug 2020

No reviews yet
Write A Review
  • Tracks
  • Description
  • Details

Down In The Weed Where The World Once Was | CD

Currently out of stock - Ships within 5-10 business days

Buy Now & Pay Later With

  • afterpay
  • zip
  • humm
  • klarna



Bright Eyes Down In The Weed Where The World Once Was CD




As a title, as a thesis, Down in the Weeds, Where the World Once Was functions on a global, apocalyptic level of anxiety that looms throughout the record. But on a personal level, it speaks to rooting around in the dirt of one's memories, trying to find the preciousness that's overgrown and unrecognizable.

For Oberst, coming back to Bright Eyes was a bit of that. A symbol of simpler times, vaguely nostalgic. And even though it wasn't actually possible to go back to the way things were, even though there wasn't an easy happy ending, there was a new reality left to work with.

Down in the Weeds is a distillation of a prolific, enduring canon. It's immediate and urgent, the product of its creators' growth across a decade apart, as well as the need to make a record together to find solace from loss. Through deliberate, fearless experimentation in process, the trio made the truest Bright Eyes sound: the sound of a deep bond, of a band coming home, but also a seamless continuation, like Bright Eyes never went away.

It's the impossible, sprawling mess of human experience that Bright Eyes has always sought to put to tape, since the beginning – the sound of holding on. Why now? Why not?


Title: Down In The Weed Where The World Once Was

Format: CD

Release Date: 21 Aug 2020

Artist: Bright Eyes

Sku: 2529077

Catalogue No: DOC210CD

Category: Rock



1. Pageturners Rag

2. Dance and Sing

3. Just once in the World

4. Mariana Trench

5. One and Done

6. Pan and Broom

7. Stairwell Song

8. Persona Non Grata

9. Tilt-A-Whirl

10. Hot Car in the Sun

11. Forced Convalescence

12. To Death's Heart (In Three Parts)

13. Calais to Dover

14. Comet Song