Total: $0.00


The Pop Group

Vinyl  |  Punk  |  15 Nov 2019

Y | Vinyl


Currently out of stock - Ships within 5-10 business days

This product is a member of the following groups/offers:






The Pop Group Y Vinyl




This is the 40th Anniversary Edition of The Pop Group’s highly influential and innovative debut album ‘Y’ released in 1979, remastered (from the original tapes) and cut half speed at Abbey Road.

Regularly appearing in ‘Greatest Album’ lists the Y Live album is an essential addendum to the original release, one that captures all the fierce urgency of The Pop Group’s live performances at the time. Comprised of Y era recordings captured at a variety of locations including New York, Manchester & Brussels – the latter on a bill with William Burroughs and Joy Division – Y Live exemplifies what had proved so thrilling about The Pop Group. A snapshot of a time when the group were sharing stages with future acolytes including Cabaret Voltaire, Linton Kwesi Johnson & Public Image Ltd, Mark Stewart describes the recordings as attempts to ‘paint the impossible’. 

The Pop Group went on to release 2 further singles, 'We Are All Prostitutes' and 'Where There Is A Will' (Split single with the Slits) and 1 further studio album 'For How Much Do We Tolerate Mass Murder,' before splitting up in 1981.  Mark Stewart from the band embarked on a solo career releasing his pioneering album Learning To Live With Cowardice in 1983. Gareth Sager and Bruce Smith went on to form Rip Rig & Panic alongside Neneh Cherry. The Pop Group reformed in 2010 to tour and have since released 2 new studio albums.


Title: Y

Format: Vinyl

Release Date: 15 Nov 2019

Artist: The Pop Group

Sku: 2441479

Catalogue No: TPGY1

Category: Punk



A1 Thief of Fire

A2 Snowgirl

A3 Blood Money

A4 Savage Sea

A5 We Are Time

B1 Words Disobey Me

B2 Don't Call Me Pain

B3 The Boys From Brazil

B4 Don't Sell Your Dreams


C She is Beyond Good and Evil

D 3.38