Total: $0.00


Soundtrack: Paddy Kingsland

Vinyl  |  Soundtrack  |  29 Mar 2019

Changes | Vinyl

Currently out of stock - Ships within 10-20 business days

This product is a member of the following groups/offers:





Soundtrack: Paddy Kingsland Changes Vinyl




The critically acclaimed BBC TV series, The Changes, was first broadcast by the BBC in in 1975, accompanied by music from electronic pioneer Paddy Kingsland, who wrote and recorded the score while working at the BBC Radiophonic Workshop.

The 10 part series, adapted from Peter Dickinson's book trilogy, was perfectly suited to Kingsland's seminal electronic style, following a teenager living in a Britain where machinery and technology emit a terrible, all-enveloping noise, causing the population to destroy them. Kingsland used an early synthesiser, the EMS Synthi 100 (which was apparently so large, they had to remove the doors of the studio to get it through), overlaid with live instruments including sitar, percussion, tabla, flute and horns to create a soundtrack which is indicative of exactly how the BBC Radiophonic Workshop's early output influenced and informed the popular electronic music of the Eighties and beyond.

Kingsland went on to write the music for (amongst others) The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Radio and TV series), Doctor Who and Around the World in 80 Days, as well as composing for the KPM music library, who issued eight albums of his work. An LP of his Radiophonic Workshop output, "The Fourth Dimension", was released by BBC Records in 1973


Title: Changes

Format: Vinyl

Release Date: 29 Mar 2019

Artist: Soundtrack: Paddy Kingsland

Sku: 2414427

Catalogue No: SILLP1540

Category: Soundtrack



1. The Changes Opening Titles

2. Home Alone (Nicky’s Theme)

3. Everybody’s Gone

4. A Note on the Door

5. A Special Kind of People

6. Your Ways Are Not Our Ways

7. The Changes Closing Titles (56" version)

8. The Bad Wires

9. The Barns

10. Life on the Farm

11. The Devil’s Children

12. The Village Court

13. The Forge

14. Hostages!

15. Rescue

16. The Changes Closing Titles (67" version)

17. The End of the Rescue

18. A Farewell

19. A Journey, and Arrival at Henley Farm

20. Sentence of Death

21. Leaving Shipton

22. Heartsease

23. At Purton Bridge

24. The Changes Closing Titles (63" version)

25. After the Bridge

26. Michael and Mary

27. Necromancer’s Weather

28. The Quarry

29. Mr Furbelow

30. Qui Me Tangit, Turbat Mundum

31. The Changes Closing Titles (48" version)

32. Into the Rock

33. The Cavern

34. Merlinus Sum

35. It’s All Over

36. Everything’s Alright Again (End Titles)

37. Nicky's Theme (Stereo Demo) (Bonus Track)

38. Theme 2 Demo (Bonus Track)

39. The Noise (Bonus Track)