Darkness Between The Leaves

Alba Griot Ensemble

CD  |  World  |  05 Oct 2018

  • Description
  • Details

Darkness Between The Leaves | CD

In Stock - Online

Finance available

  • afterpay
  • zip
  • humm
  • klarna



Alba Griot Ensemble Darkness Between The Leaves CD




Alba Griot Ensemble is a star-studded international acoustic ensemble who mix Celtic and Malian traditions with blues, jazz and ambient elements. Featuring guests including Tony Allen and Toumani Diabate, this is a seamless meeting of rich and diverse musical styles.

Scottish band leader and globetrotter Mark Mulholland moved to Mali in 2014, when the idea for this project was born. Mark and Malian percussionist and ngoni player Yacouba Sissoko performed in and around Mali before recording the album.

One of the most exciting cross-cultural projects you’re ever likely to hear, they created an album which blends the rock, blues, jazz, psychedelic and Celtic folk. An album which combines intricate, intermingled strings, complex melodies and rhythms, and strong vocal harmonies.

Recorded by the award-winning producer Dave Odlum. It’s a remarkable collaboration which weaves together diverse musical strands to create something unique, challenging and startlingly beautiful.


Title: Darkness Between The Leaves

Format: CD

Release Date: 05 Oct 2018

Artist: Alba Griot Ensemble

Sku: 2399178

Catalogue No: TUGCD1113

Category: World



1. Melt My Blues Away

2. Shadow Queen

3. Blurred Visions

4. The Darkness Between The Leaves

5. Long Way Home

6. Horonia

7. Labyrinth

8. North Wind