William Crighton

CD  |  Folk  |  04 May 2018

  • Description
  • Details

Empire | CD

Currently out of stock - Ships within 5-7 business days




William Crighton Empire CD




William Crighton is a Singer-songwriter who is known for his powerful and mesmerising live performances and has firmly established himself as ‘one to watch’ in 2018. Hailing from country girded by the South West Slopes and Riverina regions of New South Wales,
Crighton peopled the tracks of his celebrated self-titled 2016 debut with compelling, ineffably Australian figures of often-tragic resonance.

  Crighton identifies powerful analogues of lived experience. It’s a gift that finds its truest expression  on his folk-rock second album, Empire.
Produced by established collaborator and sought-after drummer Matt Sherrod (Crowded House, Beck) in close co-operation with Crighton himself, Empire finds the singer-songwriter bringing a cinematographer’s eye for detail to bear on his incomparably immersive lyrical style.

  Above all, Empire is a songbook of breathtaking insight.
The flame of the human spirit is, in Crighton’s hands, shown to be the most powerful force at work in 21 st Century Australia: one that produces both soot and shadow, but also guiding light, illuminating both the painful past and the difficult path forward.


Title: Empire

Format: CD

Release Date: 04 May 2018

Artist: William Crighton

Sku: 2368717

Catalogue No: 6741409

Category: Folk



1. Fire In The Empire

2. Let Love Come First

3. Devils tongue

4. Happiness

5. Me Brown

6. Sadness

7. 999

8. Morning Song

9. Julieanne

10. Rejoice

11. Someone

12. And The Band Played Waltzing Matilda