Serene Nights

Guitar Trek

CD  |  Classical  |  02 Oct 2015

  • Description
  • Details

Serene Nights | CD

Currently out of stock - Ships within 5-7 business days

Not available

Finance available

  • afterpay
  • zip
  • humm
  • klarna

Serene Nights is the sixth album from trail-blazing Australian guitar ensemble Guitar Trek. The album draws on music from far beyond the guitar’s usual repertoire, reimagining works from a variety of genres: “We’ve explored pieces for solo piano, dipped into the chamber music repertoire, and also tackled a movement originally written for full orchestra! We’ve also indulged in music well and truly outside the world of standard classical music, which is something the guitar handles with remarkable familiarity.”

The title track is a unique arrangement, involving considerable improvisation – all founded on a work by the multi-instrumentalist ‘Bau’ (Rufino Almeida), a native of Cape Verde. The disc also features more familiar music – Tchaikovsky’s much-loved Waltz of the Flowers from The Nutcracker, for instance, in an arrangement that pays homage to the guitar’s origins as the accompaniment for songs and dances.

Serene Nights spans 150 years and a kaleidoscopic range of musical cultures and colours – all brought together through the beauty and eloquence of the guitar quartet.

Title: Serene Nights

Format: CD

Release Date: 02 Oct 2015

Artist: Guitar Trek

Sku: 2302164

Catalogue No: 4812097

Category: Classical

Disc Count: 1

Transfer Format: Compact Disc

Video Format: Classical Music

Primary Audio: 4812097

Language: 0028948120970

Subtitles: Universal Music



Llanura (plains) Alfonso Montes

Intermezzo, Op. 118 No. 2 Johannes Brahms

Waltz Of The Flowers From The Nutcracker Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky

Tango, Op. 165 No. 2 Isaac Albéniz

Finale: Allegro Con Brio, From Horn Trio, Op. 40 Johannes Brahms

Alfonsina Y El Mar (alfonsina And The Sea) Ariel Ramírez

Noite Serena (serene Night) Bau (rufino Almeida)

Nola Felix Arndt

Angel Mark Isaacs

Je Te Veux (i Want You) Erik Satie

Four Pieces For Piano Joaquín Rodrigo: I. Caleseras (andalusian Song)

Four Pieces For Piano Joaquín Rodrigo: Ii. Fandango Del Ventorrillo (fandango Of The Inn)

Four Pieces For Piano Joaquín Rodrigo: Iii. Plegaria De La Infanta De Castilla (prayer Of The Princess Of Castile)

Four Pieces For Piano Joaquín Rodrigo: Iv. Danza Valenciana (valencian Dance)

Solace Scott Joplin