You Are The Music - We're Just The Band - Deluxe Edition


CD  |  Metal  |  18 Sep 2020

  • Description
  • Details

You Are The Music - We're Just The Band - Deluxe Edition | CD

Currently out of stock - Ships within 10-20 business days

Finance available

  • afterpay
  • zip
  • humm
  • klarna

This product is a member of the following groups/offers:

New Release Music




Trapeze You Are The Music - We're Just The Band - Deluxe Edition CD




Trapeze's origins can be traced back to two bands from the Midlands; Finders Keepers, featuring Mel Galley (guitar/vocals), Dave Holland (drums) and Glenn Hughes (bass/vocals), plus the Montanas’ John Jones (vocals/trumpet) and Terry Rowley (keyboards/guitar/flute), Trapeze were soon discovered by The Moody Blues, and snapped up for their own label, Threshold Records.

Trapeze would record three albums for Threshold; the self-titled "Trapeze" in May 1970, "Medusa" in November 1970 and "You Are The Music • We're Just The Band" in 1972.
By the time of their second record, Trapeze had scaled down to the classic power trio of Mel Galley, Dave Holland and Glenn Hughes, finding their definitive sound, with a unique mixture of blues, soul and hard rock, which found them plenty of fans in America. 
Recorded at Decca Studios and Island Studios in London, their third album was produced by Neil Slaven, with its release preceded by the 'Coast To Coast' single. The album includes a number of notable guests, including B. J. Cole on steel guitar for 'Keepin' Time' and 'Coast to Coast', plus Rod Argent on electric piano for 'Coast to Coast' and piano on 'Feelin' So Much Better Now'.
This 3CD deluxe edition has been expanded with the mono version of the 'Coast To Coast' single, plus the non-album tracks 'Good Love' and 'Dat's It'. Four tracks were aired for the 1973 Radio 1 In Concert series, taken from an "off-air" recording. One of Trapeze's major strongholds was Texas, so it's no surprise that this collection is completed with a track recorded in Dallas in 1972, plus a whole show from Houston the same year.
Glenn Hughes would leave Trapeze to join Deep Purple in 1973, leaving Mel Galley and Dave Holland to soldier on for the remainder of the 1970s, periodically reforming this classic three-piece line-up.
As well as a reproducing rare and original memorabilia from the band's archives, the collection includes extensive liner notes by Malcolm Dome based on interviews with Glenn Hughes, manager Tony Perry, producer Neil Slaven, Tom Galley and Rod Argent.


Title: You Are The Music - We're Just The Band - Deluxe Edition

Format: CD

Release Date: 18 Sep 2020

Artist: Trapeze

Sku: 2600381

Catalogue No: PURPLE024T

Category: Metal



1. Keepin Time  

2. Coast To Coast  

3. What Is A Womans Role  

4. Way Back To The Bone  

5. Feelin So Much Better Now

6. Will Our Love End  

7. Loser  

8. You Are The Music

9. Coast To Coast (Mono Version)  

10. Good Love  

11. Dats It

12. You Are The Music (Radio One In Concert 1973) 

13. What Is A Womans Role (Radio One In Concert 1973) 

14. Way Back To The Bone  (Radio One In Concert 1973) 

15. Your Love Is Alright (Radio One In Concert 1973) 

16. Black Cloud (Dallas 1972)

17. Way Back To The Bone (Houston 1972) 

18. You Are The Music (Houston 1972) 

19. Jury (Houston 1972)  

20. Seafull (Houston 1972) 

21. Your Love Is Alright (Houston 1972)  

22. Medusa (Houston 1972) 

23. Black Cloud  (Houston 1972) 

24. Touch My Life (Houston 1972)  

25. Keepin Time (Houston 1972)