Total: $0.00
Search By

Heart Of A Woman / Feelings

Johnny Mathis

CD  |  Easy Listening  |  14 Jun 2019


Currently not in stock - SPECIAL ORDER. NOT IN STOCK


Find In Store

This product is a member of the following groups/offers:

New Release Music




Johnny Mathis Heart Of A Woman / Feelings CD




During the 1974 holiday season, Johnny Mathis could be heard at cosmetics counters nationwide. His song "The Heart of a Woman" was the theme for Helena Rubinstein's Courant perfume and the title track of his latest LP.

Now, The Heart of a Woman is finally coming to standalone CD in a deluxe, double-disc expanded edition from Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records, paired with 1975's Feelings.

The Heart of a Woman was more than a perfume tie-in, however. Johnny teamed with Motown's legendary producer Johnny Bristol and arranger Paul Rise-plus session players like Dennis Coffey and Ray Parker, Jr.-for a set filled with Bristol originals which would inspire subsequent recordings from artists such as Boz Scaggs and Tom Jones. In addition to the title tune by Broadway's Charles Strouse and Lee Adams (Bye Bye Birdie), the album also features a sensual cover of the Roberta Flack chart-topper "Feel Like Makin' Love" and perhaps surprisingly, Johnny's rendition of "Wendy" from the blaxploitation film Three the Hard Way!

Feelings, produced by Jack Gold, notably introduced Mathis' evocative version of Albert Hammond and Hal David's "99 Miles from L.A.," a song which the vocalist still performs in concert today. It also boasts David and Henry Mancini's "The Greatest Gift" from The Return of the Pink Panther, and smooth interpretations of the standout ballad "What Did for Love" from A Chorus Line, Melissa Manchester's enchanting "Midnight Blue," and Neil Sedaka's "Solitaire."

Nine fascinating period bonus tracks are included on this 2-CD set including two tracks produced by composer Roger Nichols and a rare session reuniting Johnny with producer-songwriter Jerry Fuller.

Joe Marchese's new liner notes draw on interviews with Mathis and Fuller, and Mike Piacentini has remastered at Sony's Battery Studios. This set of amorous favorites from The Voice of Romance promises to go straight to the Heart.


Title: Heart Of A Woman / Feelings

Format: CD

Release Date: 14 Jun 2019

Artist: Johnny Mathis

Sku: 2426417

Catalogue No: RLGM8480642

Category: Easy Listening



1 Woman, Woman

2 Sail on White Moon

3 It's Gone

4 House for Sale

5 Feel Like Makin' Love

6 Memories Don't Leave Like People Do

7 Strangers in Dark Corners

8 Wendy

9 The Heart of a Woman

10 The Way We Planned It

11 Fifty, Fifty (1974 Version)

12 Nothing in This Whole World


1 One Day in Your Life

2 Stardust

3 What I Did for Love

4 Midnight Blue

5 The Greatest Gift

6 99 Miles from L.A

7 Hurry Mother Nature

8 Feelings

9 That's All She Wrote

10 Solitaire

11 Crazy Little Love Makin' Ways

12 Let's Go on from Here

13 Turn the Lights Down

14 You Are There

15 Fifty, Fifty (1976 Version)

16 That's What Makes the Music Play

17 Let Me Be the One