It's Somethin' - The Virgin Years

Lalah Hathaway

CD  |  R&B  |  13 Sep 2019

  • Description
  • Details

It's Somethin' - The Virgin Years | CD

Currently out of stock - Ships within 10-20 business days




Lalah Hathaway It's Somethin' - The Virgin Years CD




Long-awaited expanded double-CD edition of acclaimed soul-jazz vocal stylist and songwriter Lalah Hathaway’s first two albums – “Lalah Hathaway” (1990) and “A Moment” (1994). Features a wealth of bonus material including hard-to-find mixes, b-sides and rare Japanese-only single ‘Night And Day’.
This double-disc is the first ever comprehensive compilation of her recordings for Virgin Records.

Daughter of soul legend the late great Donny Hathaway, the renowned songstress Lalah Hathaway is a multiple Grammy and ASCAP Award winner.
Her 1990 debut “Lalah Hathaway” encompasses Brit-soul, jazz, R&B and swingbeat, including the US R&B hits ‘Heaven Knows’, ‘Baby Don’t Cry’ and ‘It’s Somethin’. Collaborators include top producers Angela Winbush (Stephanie Mills/Isley Brothers), Derek Bramble (Jaki Graham/David Bowie), Andre Fischer (Rufus/Brenda Russell) and more. 

Her 1994 follow-up “A Moment” includes her UK top 40 cover of Sly & The Family Stone’s ‘Family Affair’ with The British Electric Foundation, as well as production by Brian Alexander Morgan (SWV), Sami McKinney (Anita Baker/Patti LaBelle) and Chuckii Booker (Troop/Vanessa Williams).

20 page booklet includes selected track commentary by Lalah, rare photos, discography and brand new interview with the artist by project-producer/ex-Attitude editor Adam Mattera.


Title: It's Somethin' - The Virgin Years

Format: CD

Release Date: 13 Sep 2019

Artist: Lalah Hathaway

Sku: 2434026

Catalogue No: NTND002

Category: R&B



1 Somethin'

2 Heaven Knows

3 Baby Don't Cry

4 Smile

5 U-Godit Gowin On

6 Obvious

7 Stay Home Tonight

8 I'm Coming Back

9 Sentimental

10 I Gotta Move On

11 Heaven Knows (7? Version)

12 It?s Somethin' (Radio Mix)

13 Baby Don't Cry (Radio Version)

14 Heaven Knows (Yvonne Turner Remix)

15 It?s Somethin' (12? Mix)

16 Baby Don't Cry (Crybaby Club Version)

17 Somethin' (Smoove & Sassy Mix)


1 Let Me Love You

2 Rise

3 Family Affair

4 These Are The Things (You Do To Me)

5 Do You Suppose

6 Better As A Memory

7 Bad By Myself

8 Lean On Me

9 Separate Ways

10 Long After U Have Gone       

11 I?m Not Over You

12 A Moment

13 So They Say

14 Night And Day

15 Let Me Love You (Bed Time Mix)

16 Dreams Don?t Lie (Club Mix)

17 Separate Ways (Stringapella)

18 Night And Day (Acappella Version)