Total: $0.00
Search By

Heavy Horses - New Shoes Edition

Jethro Tull

CD/DVD  |  Rock/Pop  |  02 Mar 2018


Currently not in stock - 5-10 Days NOT IN STOCK

Find In Store

is available for all purchases between $50 and $1000. Learn more


Jethro Tull Heavy Horses - New Shoes Edition CD/DVD

2018 marks 50 years since progressive folk-rock band Jethro Tull jumped onto the British music scene.
To kick off this exciting anniversary year, we present you with the 40 th anniversary ‘New Shoes Edition’ of Heavy Horses, a 3CD/ 2DVD boxset released by Parlophone Records. This edition will feature the original album, plus additional studio recordings, live material and an extensive new booklet.

Released between Songs From The Wood (1977) and Stormwatch (1979), Heavy Horses was the second of a trilogy of folk rock albums from Jethro Tull.
Lead singer and flautist Ian Anderson explained its particular focus on horses and agricultural life saying, “As a child, my big passion was to get off the leash and explore the local wooded and leafy suburbs.
So it didn’t suddenly become new in 1977, it was just that the subject matter fitted what I wanted to write about at the time.”
Upon release, Heavy Horses was a top 20 album on both sides of the Atlantic.

Commercial success was met equally with critical praise for its melodies, instrumentation and Anderson’s signature flute playing.
More recently, critics have described the album as “daring, experimental, literate, and often thrilling”, and a “testament to the men who made it”.

This anniversary edition features the original album with nine additional bonus tracks, seven of which are previously unreleased.
The ‘New Shoes Edition’ also contains a live concert from May 1978, and two DVDs which feature the original, bonus and live tracks all mixed to surround sound by Steven Wilson and Jakko Jakszyk. A 96-page booklet covers a history of the album and corresponding tour, complete lyrics, rare photos and exclusive interviews.


Title: Heavy Horses - New Shoes Edition

Format: CD/DVD

Release Date: 02 Mar 2018

Artist: Jethro Tull

Sku: 2362173

Catalogue No: 9029575791

Category: Rock/Pop



1. …And The Mouse Police Never Sleeps

2. Acres Wild

3. No Lullaby

4. Moths

5. Journeyman

6. Rover

7. One Brown Mouse

8. Heavy Horses

9. Weathercock

10. Living In These Hard Times (Version Two)*

11. Everything In Our Lives*

12. Jack A Lynn* (early version)

13. Quatrain* (studio version)

14. Horse-Hoeing Husbandry*

15. Beltane

16. Botanic Man*

17. Living In These Hard Times (Version One)

18. Botanic Man Theme*


1. Opening Music (Quartet)

2. Introduction by Claude Nobs

3. No Lullaby

4. Sweet Dream

5. Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day

6. Jack In The Green

7. One Brown Mouse

8. Heavy Horses

9. A New Day Yesterday

10. Flute Solo Improvisation / God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen / Bouree

11. Living In The Past / A New Day Yesterday (reprise)

12. Songs From The Wood


1. Thick As A Brick

2. Hunting Girl

3. Too Old To Rock ‘n’ Roll

4. Conundrum

5. Minstrel In The Gallery

6. Cross Eyed Mary

7. Quatrain

8. Aqualung

9. Locomotive Breath

10. Dambusters March / Aqualung (reprise)


DVD 1 [Audio/Video]

Heavy Horses full album plus the additional:

Living In These Hard Times (versions 1 & 2)

Everything In Our Lives


Horse-Hoeing Husbandry


Botanic Man & Botanic Man

Quatrain (stereo only)

Mixed 5.1 DTS & DD surround sound and 96/24 LPCM stereo.


DVD 2 [Audio]

Jethro Tull recorded live to 24 track at The Festhalle, Berne, Switzerland by The Maison Rouge Mobile mixed to 5.1 DTS & DD surround sound and 48/24 LPCM stereo

Promotional video footage for the tracks Heavy Horses & Moths. and 2 period TV ads