Django and Jimmie

Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard

CD  |  Country  |  05 Jun 2015

  • Description
  • Details

Django and Jimmie | CD

Currently out of stock - Ships within 5-7 business days

Not available

This product is a member of the following groups/offers:

2 For $40 Music

All 2 For $40


Django and Jimmie, a new studio album collaboration from Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard, two of the founding fathers of American outlaw country music, is set for release on June 5.

Helmed by Nelson's longtime producer, collaborator and friend Buddy Cannon, Django and Jimmie premieres 14 brand-new studio recordings including: "Django and Jimmie," a dual tribute to jazz guitarist Django Reinhardt and Jimmie Rodgers, country music's mythic "Singing Brakeman"; the reflective and meditative "Live This Long"; "Missing Ol' Johnny Cash," an homage to country music's original Man in Black featuring guest vocals from Bobby Bare; a sublime interpretation of Bob Dylan's "Don't Think Twice, It's Alright"; and the future outlaw country classic "Unfair Weather Friend," written by rising songsmiths Marla Cannon-Goodman (Buddy Cannon's daughter) and Ward Davis.

This is Willie’s sixth album since signing with Legacy three years ago and it’s probably my favorite. It includes an exceptional collection of songs, from new originals like the title track "Django and Jimmie" (a tribute to Django Reinhardt and Jimmie Rodgers), the future country classic "Unfair Weather Friend" and their tribute to the Man in Black in "Missing Ol' Johnny Cash" to a beautiful interpretation of Bob Dylan's "Don't Think Twice, It's Alright".

"Me and Merle got a new album coming out called Django and Jimmie and the title track is about Django Reinhardt and Jimmie Rodgers," said Willie Nelson. "Both of those guys were very influential in both of our careers."

According to Merle Haggard, there's "new songs, a couple of classics and Willie sang like he was a teenager."


Title: Django and Jimmie

Format: CD

Release Date: 05 Jun 2015

Artist: Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard

Sku: 2295722

Catalogue No: 88875104052

Category: Country

Disc Count: 1



1. Django and Jimmie

2. It’s All Going To Pot

3. Unfair Weather Friend

4. Missing Ol’ Johnny Cash

5. Live This Long

6. Alice In Hulaland

7. Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright

8. Family Bible

9. It’s Only Money

10. Swinging Doors

11. Where Dreams Come To Die

12. Somewhere Between

13. Driving The Herd

14. The Only Man Wilder Than Me