Total: $0.00

Country Blues

Lightnin Hopkins

CD  |  Blues  |  12 Feb 2013


Currently out of stock - 10-15 Days

This product is a member of the following groups/offers:

2 For $40 Music

Any 2 For $40 - Movies, Music, TV, Merch


The great Lightnin' Hopkins was not only the embodiment of a fundamental American tradition, but a creator who remade the idiom of country blues in his own image. A master guitarist, vocalist and songwriter, Lightnin' was a unique brand of bluesman whose influence on the worlds of folk, country and blues grows stronger with each passing year since his death in 1982. "Country Blues," his first recording for the legendary Tradition label recorded in 1959, was the first recording to showcase Lightnin' in his true element and on his own terms- a master songwriter alone with just his voice and guitar, a direct contrast to his early electric recordings. To this day it remains as one of the greatest examples of pure folk blues ever recorded.


Title: Country Blues

Format: CD

Release Date: 12 Feb 2013

Artist: Lightnin Hopkins

Sku: 2227508

Catalogue No: 115932

Category: Blues

Disc Count: 1



1 Long Time

2 Rainy Day Blues

3 Baby!

4 Long Gone Like a Turkey Through the Corn

5 Prison Blues Come Down on Me

6 Backwater Blues (That Mean Old Twister)

7 Gonna Pull a Party

8 Bluebird, Bluebird

9 See See Rider

10 Worrying My Mind

11 Til the Gin Gets Here

12 Bunion Stew

13 You Got to Work to Get Your Pay

14 Go Down Old Hannah

15 Hear My Black Dog Bark