Email *
Password *

Hits & More 1965-1968

Ray Brown And The Whispers

CD  |  Pop  |  14 Sep 2012

No reviews yet
Write A Review
  • Tracks
  • Description
  • Details

Hits & More 1965-1968 | CD

Currently out of stock - Ships within 5-7 business days

Not available

Buy Now & Pay Later With

  • afterpay
  • zip
  • humm
  • klarna

Drawn together on one action-packed single CD, Raven presents the very best of Ray Brown and The Whispers. Hits & More 1965-1968 contains all the group's hit singles (As & Bs) plus key album tracks and a rare EP cut, everything that the Whispers fan – indeed every afi-cionado of Australia's rich heritage of 1960s rock and pop recordings – would want. There was a time circa 1965-1966 that Brown and the Whis-pers were one of the hottest groups at the forefront of the local music scene. Alongside Billy Thorpe and the Aztecs, the Easybeats and Normie Rowe, the group performed regularly in front of thousands of excitable teenagers who danced wildly to the sounds and energy pro-vided by these new pop heroes. It was inevitable that the clean-cut and personable Brown would stand as the equal of Normie and Stevie Wright as a pin-up sensation.
Over a frantic period of two years, Brown and the Whispers issued four excellent albums, seven hits singles and eight EPs. Indeed, their remark-able run of four Top 5 hits in a row – including three #1s in "20 Miles", "Pride" and "Fool, Fool, Fool" - in hometown Sydney during 1965 alone proved to be a milestone in local pop music history. Other highlights include the gritty garage rockers "(Ain't It) Strange" and "That's Evil", the moody "Too Late to Come Home" (with the Bee Gees on backing vocals), the chiming "Go to Him", laden with electric 12-sting guitar, and tremen-dous covers of soul staples "In the Midnight Hour" and "Respect". When Brown parted company from the group at the end of 1966, he continued the hit run as a solo artist with covers of the Four Tops' "The Same Old Song" and the Who's mod classic "Ivor the Engine Driver". They're all here... and More! With superb quality audio, 29 tracks and colour booklet with detailed notes.


Title: Hits & More 1965-1968

Format: CD

Release Date: 14 Sep 2012

Artist: Ray Brown And The Whispers

Sku: 2215192

Catalogue No: RVCD350

Category: Pop



1. 20 Miles

2. Devoted To You

3. Pride

4. Say It Again

5. Shakin' All Over

6. Fool, Fool, Fool

7. Go To Him

8. He'll Never Love You Like I Do

9. Dimples

10. Hands Off

11. That's Evil

12. Away From You

13. Summertime

14. Somebody To Love

15. In The Midnight Hour

16. Now Is The Time

17. Just A Little Bit

18. Lovely Ladies

19. Neighbour, Neighbour

20. Tennessee Waltz Song (Tennessee Waltz)

21. Woman

22. Sticks And Stones

23. (Ain't It) Strange

24. I Can't Get Enough

25. Too Late To Come Home

26. Respect

27. The Same Old Song

28. Ivor The Engine Driver

29. That's It – I Quit – I'm Movin' On